Ao ole Malo Tuimaleali’ifano Va’aletoa Sualauvi II, gets second term


It’s official, Parliament today voted to confer a second term for Ao ole Malo Tuimaleali’ifano Va’aletoa Sualauvi II, as Samoa’s Head of State for the next five years.  

This morning the Speaker of the House, Li’o Papali’i Taeu Masipa’u made the motion upon receiving the appointment by the governing party, Faatuatua ile Atua Samoa ua Tasi on their endorsement of Tuimaleali’ifano. 

Prime Minister Fiame Naomi Mata’afa took the floor and explained the Head of State’s appointment started in 1962 with the appointments of Tupua Tamasese Meaole and Malietoa Tanumafili II and their appointments were valid until their deaths. 

Tupua passed in 1963 while Malietoa passed in 2007. Under the Constitution, the terms of the Head of State is five years. Tui Atua Tupua Tamasese Efi was appointed in 2007 and he served for two terms. After him, the ruling HRPP party at that time appointed Tuimaleali’ifano in 2017.

Fiame said the term is for five years, but it’s apparent in 2019 there were changes to the Constitution limiting the terms of each person to serve two terms. That means, that person cannot serve more than 10 years. 

Other changes were made in 2019 such as addressing the Head of State, his Highness has been changed to Ao ole Malo; also removed is the “Masiofo” addressing the first lady. 

Fiame pointed out that the qualifications for the Head of State are the same as of Members of Parliament, but its evident the appointments of the Head of State, it has been accorded to the Tamaaiga in the Country and this tells of the respect accorded to the maximal lineage titles of Samoa.