Former Black Ferns captain Seiuli Fiao’o Fa’amausili, to be inducted into World Rugby’s Hall of Fame


Former Black Ferns captain Seiuli Fiao’o Fa’amausili will be inducted into World Rugby’s Hall of Fame at a special ceremony during the World Cup in November.

Regarded as the one of the most formidable hookers in the game, Fa’amausili played in five Rugby World Cups winning four of them – the last as captain at the 2017 edition in Ireland, reports Radio New Zealand. 

She is the youngest of the six inductees and the only Samoan New Zealander.

Fellow inductees, Deborah Griffin, Sue Dorrington, Alice Cooper and Mary Forsyth represented England and were the driving force behind the inaugural women’s Rugby World Cup in Wales in 1991.

Griffin became one of the first female representatives on World Rugby’s Council in 2018.

Kathy Flores who passed away last October, was a gifted player and coach having been part of the USA team that won the inaugural Rugby World Cup in 1991 and later coached the team to two tournaments.

“It will be particularly special this year to honour those who have made an enormous contribution to the growth of the women’s game as pioneers and inspirers,” said the World Rugby chairman and Hall of Fame inductee Sir Bill Beaumont.

“From those who challenged the establishment to launch the first women’s Rugby World Cup, to Kathy Flores, a pioneering driving force behind the growth of the women’s game in the USA, and a five-time Rugby World Cup participant, world champion and game legend Fiao’o Fa’amausili. All have made a significant contribution to the history of our sport and, it is with their pioneering spirit that we will accelerate the profile, growth and impact of women in rugby world-wide.”

World Rugby Hall of Fame 2022 inductees

No.155 – Deborah Griffin (England)

No.156 – Sue Dorrington (England)

No.157 – Alice D. Cooper (England)

No.158 – Mary Forsyth (England)

No.159 – Kathy Flores (USA)

No.160 – Fiao’o Fa’amausili (New Zealand)

The six inductees bring the total in the Hall of Fame to 160 since it began in 2006.