Four types of flu spreading in the Country


The Ministry of Health has confirmed there are four flu viruses circulating in the Country. 

The Government owned media reported the confirmation came from Acting Director of Health Tagaloa Dr. Robert Thomsen. 

The four flu virus are Influenza A; Influenza B; Respiratory Syncytial Virus and COVID-19. 

“There is quite a high number of people tested positive for Influenza B,” Tagaloa told Savali. 

Adding that Influenza B is highly contagious and for treatment, Tagaloa highly recommends the public to heed precautionary measures including rest, drinking lots of fluids and isolating at home. 

“Some people have the flu, but they are still going to work. “Stay home and take precautions. This would stop the flu from spreading to others.” 

He said the same flu virus are circulating in New Zealand and Australia and with the high number of people travelling into the country, Tagaloa containing imported flu is unavoidable. The symptoms will affect an individual for 3 to 5 days, and Tagaloa strong advised to consult a doctor.

Two weeks ago, the Ministry issued a public notice on the “rampant spread” of seasonal influenza flu or the common flu, this is on top of the Covid-19 spreading in the Country. 

The Ministry says these viruses are contagious with expected symptoms such as fever, runny nose, dry cough, sore throat, headache, muscle and joint pain, and a general feeling of unwellness and fatigue. 

“Since the month of June 2022, the Ministry of Health has seen a very large surge of cases presenting with symptoms of the common flu with a noticeable increase compared to the previous two years.

“The general public is reminded that the flu spreads very easily, with the rapid transmission in crowded areas, such as schools, workplaces, and other public places such as supermarkets when an infected person coughs or sneezes.

“Infectious droplets are dispersed into the air and can infect persons in range who breathe these droplets.”