Samoa scored two tries, in the Rugby League World Cup, but Australia won 30-10


Toa Samoa scored two tries in the Rugby League World Cup final in Manchester this morning, but was unable to stop a dominant Australian side from winning the title.

RNZ reported after leading 14-0 at half-time, Australia went on to win 30-10.

Samoa were the first Pacific Island team to reach the final in the tournament’s history, but after a solid start they were no match for Australia, as the holders ran in six tries on their way to yet another World Cup crown.

See how the match unfolded with RNZ’s live blog

Australia have now won nine titles from the last 10 Rugby League World Cups.

Two early tries from Latrell Mitchell and James Tedesco set Australia on course to continue their domination of the competition.

Liam Martin’s third try of the tournament, after a sustained spell of Samoa pressure, gave the holders a 14-0 lead which they held until the break, before another converted try from Cameron Murray in the second half put Australia in total control.

To their credit, the Samoans did not give up and nearly brought the house down when Brian To’o deservedly got them on the scoresheet with a well-worked try, getting fans dreaming of a remarkable comeback.

The Kangaroos quickly dashed any such hopes with another try, a second of the game from Tedesco, before Samoa did have one more memory to take home from a memorable tournament as Stephen Crichton intercepted the ball and crossed the line.

Mitchell had the final say for the brilliant Kangaroos with another fine try in the final minute, ensuring that since 1972 Australia have only returned from one World Cup without the trophy in their hands.

The Jillaroos also made it three titles in a row with a 54-4 dismantling of New Zealand earlier in the day.