Speaker acknowledges court decision, three MP’s to contest in by-elections


Speaker of the House, Papalii Li’o Taeu Masipa’u has acknowledged the decision by the court for the three Members of Parliament who resigned from their respective parties to contest in by-elections. 

This follows a consent order handed down by Supreme Court Justice Leiataualesa Daryl Clarke a judicial settlement between the Speaker of the House and the three Members of Parliament, Tuu’u Anasii Leota, Ale Vena Ale and Mauu Siaosi Puepuemai. 

Effective yesterday, the Members have vacated their seats in Parliament, said the Speaker in an interview with Radio Polynesia. As reported earlier,  Speaker Papalii Lio filed a motion for declaratory orders in the Supreme Court after the MP’s denied the contempt charges by the Speaker over the need to vacate their seats as they resigned from the Human Rights Protection Party. 

Last year Tuu’u, Ale and Mau’u resigned from the HRPP. 

Mau’u cited that members of his constituency have continued to question his ability to fulfil the needs of Fagaloa and also made the suggestion that for the best interest of the people of Fagaloa, he must resign from HRPP and maybe then the needs of the constituency will be addressed by the current administration. 

Tuu’u and Ale took issue with the HRPP under the leadership of Tuilaepa Sailele Malielegaoi, whom they deemed unfit to lead, hence their resignation. 

Tuu’u said their village endorsement of his candidacy for office was not made based on the political party he served. He cited internal issues addressed to the leader of the HRPP, but the advice was not considered. 

While Ale told the media that his constituency supports him by moving away from the HRPP.