SRWMA confirms new officers


SRWMA hosted Its Annual General Meeting for 2023 at its Tafaigata Headquarters. It was the end of an era for Marina Keil, who has been the president for six years since SRWMA’s establishment in 2017.

Mrs Keil still remains a board member for SRWMA.

“I excluded myself from nominations of the new office due to family obligations and other work commitments, but will continue to work for the association and allow ample time for the new President and his Executive to transition into SRWMA operations.”

Mrs Keil announced its new executive committee for 2023.

  • President – Mr Leiu Silafau Ioane Sio (Pacific Recycle)
  • Vice President – Mrs Edith Eka Arp
  • Treasurer –Mr Eric Clem Groves
  • Secretary – Mrs Galumalemana Ronna Lee (USP)

The former President concluded that her time was up.

“I’ve done all I can to get SRWMA off the ground, and it’s time for new changes. “I’m confident in our newly elected committee; they are ready and well-equipped to take SRWMA to the next level”.

President Leiu Silafau Ioane Sio thanked Mrs Keil for her commitment and hard work to SRWMA and Samoa’s environment over the years for recycling in Samoa, “your work through the association has transformed Samoa into a leader for recycling in the Pacific, so we have big shoes to fill” Mr Sio said.

Before the AGM adjourned, SRWMA members launched its new Website which was put together by Srwma’s VSA NZ Uni-vol, Ms Annalise O’SullivanMoffat.