Three new women MP’s swore in office today


A new era has dawned on Samoa with the swearing-in of three women Members of Parliament taking the number of women in the Legislative Assembly to seven.

The new Members of Parliament are Ali’imalemanu Alofa Tuuau, Faagasealii Sapoa Feagai of the Human Rights Protection Party, and Faatuatua i le Atua Samoa ua Tasi member To’omata Norah Leota increasing the number of seats in the House to 54.

The swearing-in is in line with a court ruling issued by Chief Justice, his Honour, Satiu Simativa Perese, Senior Justice Vui Clarence Nelson, and Justice Lesatele Rapi Vaai.

Prime Minister, Fiame Naomi Mataafa congratulated the new female MPs adding that the law has fulfilled in terms of the 10 percent constitutional mandates.

“It has not been an easy journey so far,” said Fiame in implementing the law at hand, but in the end, the purpose of the law is to allow more women representation in Parliament.

She then welcomed the women MP’s.

“Aliimalemanu is not a new member; she served in the previous term, whereas she was appointed Chairwoman of the Parliament’s Financial and Expenditure Committee.

“Faagasealii and To’omata are new members and this is the second time the 10 percent constitutional mandate for Women MP’s have been activated, the last time was one female,” said Fiame.

However, this time around there are three women MPs. Adding the appointment of Toomata as an additional M.P. under Article 1a (b) and 44 1E of the Constitution.

Toomatas appointment was activated when Leota Tima Leavai resigned from her seat. The ruling FAST party will now have 31 seats and the opposition HRPP will now have 22 seats.

One seat is yet to be decided with the pending by-election for the Gagaifomauga 2 seat which became vacant after General Election winner Va’ele Iona Sekuini passed away suddenly last month.